Skip to content

Oracle Compute Cloud – Concepts

This post provide general overview of Oracle Compute Cloud and some of its main features.

Oracle’s enterprise-grade infrastructure service provides a Oracle compute cloud environment which can be provisioned rapidly. It provides flexible and scalable computing, block storage, and networking services on Oracle Cloud. You can now set up and manage your computing and storage workloads in the cloud, on demand, using a self-service portal. You can say that Oracle compute cloud is the foundation of Oracle’s Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS).

There are two broad categories of Oracle Compute Cloud:

  1. Elastic Compute: Elastic Compute enables customers to leverage elastic compute capabilities to run any workload in the cloud in a shared compute zone.
  2. Dedicated Compute: Offers customers elasticity but with added capability such CPU pinning and complete network isolation provides predictable, consistent performance with no noisy neighbors (not shared).

When you are sending all your corporate data to Cloud and shutting down your data center, the major worry that you will have will be “Security”. Everyone who has Internet access is a potential threat to corporate data security. Oracle Compute Cloud service offers complete security control over the environment, allowing administrators to fully protect their site.

Oracle Compute Cloud Service’s security is broken down into 4 major pieces as described below. As an administrator you can control and define all of these security variables

1. Security Applications

These are created to allow application-specific ports to remain open to be able to access your application. Supported port types are TCP, UDP, ICMP, and GRE and a range of ports can be used.

A security application is usually for each application installed in the environment.

2. Security Lists

These are the network security attribute assigned to a server instance. It dictate how the network will respond to inbound and outbound traffic from a server instance. By default, Inbound packets are dropped with no reply given. This means an outside source sending information into the network will have that traffic stopped. The outbound traffic policy is set to Allow by default. This can be changed to Deny (drop packets with no reply), or Reject (drop packets with reply).

3. Security Rules

These are created to bridge a security application to a security list. Each rule is created to allow specific traffic to a specific destination. After selecting the security application, a source and destination must be provided. A source can be a security list created or a security IP list.

4. Security IP Lists

These are created to allow entry from specified IP addresses. It allows blocking of IP’s to be grouped together.  For better security of an environment, instead of opening server to public internet, specific IP addresses from known sources (Business Units/ Offices/ VPN/ data center etc) can be added to an IP list. A security rule can be created to only allow traffic from these IP addresses to reach their destination.

We found Oracle Compute Service to be fast,  reliable, secure and easy to access. In further posts we will explore and write more on Oracle Compute and database cloud.

[Post Views: 41]

Brijesh Gogia

I’m an experienced Oracle Applications DBA with more than a decade of full-time DBA experience. I have gained a wide knowledge of the Oracle software stack and have worked on several big projects for multi-national companies. I enjoy working with the leading-edge technology and have passion for database performance and stability. Thankfully my work allows me time for researching new technologies (and to write about them).
You can connect with me on LinkedIn.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

error: Alert: Content is protected !!